“So it begins…”

Production has begun in Wellington, New Zealand today for Peter Jackson’s new film “The Hobbit”.

Due to us already experiencing what would normally be the only life-span of a film’s life (The Lord of the Rings Trilogy) it makes it all the more special that we’re actually going to be able to re-enter this world.

I can’t tell you how much I wish I could have been there on set first thing this morning with the crisp cold air and quiet atmosphere as this mammoth project begins. I think it might feel history and I’d love to wander the set, help put up a wall, carry costumes from one destination to the other, stop for a chat with the DP. I’m getting a small amount of euphoria just thinking about it.

I don’t count Peter Jackson among my favourite directors, but I have no doubt in his ability to make a superb large-scale film and he’s my #1 choice for “The Hobbit”, so naturally this is a project that I’m highly anticipating. I just wish I could be there on set as they make it.

About jyerating

Film critic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

